As a New Yorker and a Christian

I mourn deeply with those who suffered loss and anguish in the events of 9/11, who smelled burning flesh for days and weeks, who still suffer from respiratory ailments, anxiety, nightmares, grief, and other ailments of the human body and spirit.

I mourn deeply with the Iraqi and Afghani families who have suffered the loss of family members, homes, businesses, and infrastructure at our hands.

I mourn deeply with Guantanamo detainees who were denied due process, kept from their loved ones and livelihoods, tortured, neglected, and ignored in the name of victory and security.

I mourn deeply the fear, mistrust, suspicion, and division that have multiplied and multiplied from the initial violence, poisoning our communities, our rhetoric, our politics, and our foreign policy.

And I mourn the fact that the death of Osama bin Laden will ultimately resolve none of these, because resurrection, security, reconciliation, and peace are never found in another’s death, except in the case of the death of Jesus Christ.

Being imperfect in my faith, I do not mourn the death of Osama bin Laden, but neither can I celebrate.

‘As surely as I live, declares the Sovereign LORD, I take no pleasure in the death of the wicked, but rather that they turn from their ways and live….‘” – Ezekiel 33:11

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “As a New Yorker and a Christian

  1. Rebecca

    Great verse. thanks for your thoughts

  2. Hey Fairybear,

    I have to say I really enjoy the balanced view in the post. That year in a situation of war and terror it’s everyone who suffers and revenge and death doesn’t settle anything.

    Also I want to thankyou for living in America and stumbling across our little blog KoGinthemachine and checking it out. I hope you found it interesting and helpful.

    All the best with you blog man.

    -Ben

Leave a Reply

