Death and Mangoes.

So, in the way of best laid plans by mice and bloggers, this post was scheduled to be a rhapsodic reflection on the Wild Goose Festival, which I would have just wrapped up the day before. It would have been a brief, thematically appropriate digression from the Fundiementals series, which would have been between posts #3 and #4, and there would have also been reviews in the interim of Exodus, Leviticus, and a new Speakeasy book that I was excited to read.

Instead, my father in law passed away in Taiwan on the 31st (NY time) after a long illness, and B and I flew out the next day to mourn in tropical paradise. I do not wish to say much about the mourning process, because it isn’t really mine. Due to distance, illness, and travel difficulties, I only met my father in law twice, so while I am empathically sad because my husband is sad, I don’t feel a great deal of ownership over the grief. I know that B is planning his own blog post dealing with the matter, in his own time, and I will re-post it here in due course.

Hubby and his dad in happier, healthier days, only a few years ago.

Hubby and his dad in happier, healthier days, only a few years ago.

In the meantime, all I really want to say is that it is always striking how life moves along almost undisturbed by death. The family is disturbed to be sure; I do not wish in any way to minimize the weeping crater left behind by the death of a close loved one. But large grief always seems as if it should be marked by some equally momentous natural tribute. The sun should stand still. Or the cable and internet industries should just observe a day of silence to honor your loss. Or food should go on strike and taste only of bitter sand in protest to the awfulness. But the sun continues to rise, our television shows continue to accumulate in the DVR, and Taiwanese mangoes continue to be ridiculously, ludicrously delicious. Which is unfair, because Heng-Yeh is no longer here to share them.

And as the world continues, so does blogging, eventually. This post marks the end of my blog silence, and this blog will be back on Thursday, with a (now overdue) review of Coffee Shop Conversations: Making the Most of Spiritual Small Talk by Dale and Jonalyn Fincher.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Death and Mangoes.

  1. May your Love feel wrapped up in the most loving arms of all.

Leave a Reply

